Loggers Post Solid Effort At Peyton Scoring Meet

Loggers Post Solid Effort At Peyton Scoring Meet

TACOMA, Wash. – The Peyton Scoring Meet was held at Puget Sound Saturday morning, featuring PLU, St. Martin's, Olympic College and the host Loggers. The Logger men finished second while the women were third.

Andrea Leiken won the 100m with a 12.93, a new personal best and also took the 200m title (26.82), earning Northwest Conference (NWC) qualifying times in both events.

Meg Gilbertson won the 400m with a 1:02.66, a NWC qualifying mark and Brenda Seymour recorded a seasonal best in the event with a 1:04.39.

Hayley Walker posted a 2:25.65 in the 800m, good enough for second place. Kathryn Flyte timed in at 2:34.29, a seasonal best. Flyte had a great meet, also posting a seasonal best in the 1500m, with a 5:06.85.

In the 5000m, Marnie Hazlehurst set a meet record with an 18:30.94 to win the event. Fellow teammate Brooke Peaden ran a season-best with a 20:26.64.

Emma Raisl posted a NWC qualifying mark in the 400m hurdles with a 1:13.65.

Two Loggers set NWC qualifying marks in the high jump, Kari Hanson went 4'11 while Maggie Rowe cleared 4'9, respectively.

In the pole vault competition, Maya Heck qualified for the conference meet with a vault of 9'6.25.

A seasonal best and NWC qualifying mark was set by Sarah Stillman in the triple jump at 32'0.

In the hammer throw, Maggie Klee won the event, and threw 129'5 for a NWC qualifying mark and Chris Gilbert set a personal record.

On the men's side, Lukas Diesing set a personal record in the 100m with an 11.76. Kupono Park set a season best in the 200m with a time of 24.82.

The men shined in the 400m as three seasonal bests and a personal best were set. Sean Tyree set a seasonal best and earned a qualifying mark with a 51.35. Emerson Sample (54.31) and Karlen Rothenbueler (57.48) also set seasonal bests while Charles Noble (55.06) had a personal record.

Tyree also earned a seasonal best in the 800m with a 2:00.40.

In the 1500m, three men posted good times led by Robin Harkins (4:03.20) with a personal record and a qualifying time. Bryan Soto set a seasonal best (4:17.24) and Matt Klein posted a personal record (4:24.89).

Harkins also won the 5000m by 12 seconds with a qualifying mark of 15:45.80.

Two men posted NWC qualifying marks in the 400m hurdlers as Sample went 59:26, a seasonal best and Joe Cerne ran 1:01.47. Matt Heflin set a personal record with a 1:02.16. Cerne also set a personal record in the discus.

Daniel Berendsen set a season best, meet record and posted a qualifying mark in the high jump, clearing 6'0.75.

In the long jump, a personal record and qualifying mark was set by Michael Haas with a leap of 20'5.75, good enough to win the event.

In the relay's, the women's 4x400m team of Seymour, Gilberston, Walker and Leiken won the race with a 4:13.15.

The Loggers will host the 26th Annual Shotwell Invitational on Saturday at 10 a.m.